roles and permissions.md
For the complete documentation index, see llms.txt. Markdown versions of documentation pages are available by appending .md to page URLs; this page is available as Markdown.
Roles and Permissions
Login Roles and Permissions
Dropzone AI users are assigned a role that determines what access they have to the Dropzone environment.
The following table describes the roles and permissions available to Dropzone AI users:
| Role Name | Permissions |
|---|---|
| Admin | Full write access; create and update integration configuration; create response automation; manage users; create and update custom strategies |
| Member | Minimal write access; create context memory, add investigation feedback; ask questions of the AI |
| Restricted Read Only | Read-only access; view investigations and dashboards; view custom strategies; no ad-hoc chat |
Role Source
Dropzone AI users get their role from one of two places:
- If logging in via a SAML/SSO provider, Dropzone uses the role provided by your IDP (Identity Provider).
- If logging in via username/password, federated Google, or Microsoft buttons, Dropzone uses the role set in Team Admin.
Managing Users via Team Admin
The following describes how to manage users via the Team Admin interface.
- Navigate to your Dropzone AI tenant home page (for example,
https://mycompany.dropzone.app). - Click your person icon on the far right and select Team Admin.
- From the Team Admin page, you can see the users who have accounts in this Dropzone environment.
Adding a User
To add a user:
- From the Team Admin page, click the Add User button.
- Enter the name and email address of the user you want to invite.
- Select the role from the dropdown.
- Click Save to invite the user.
First-Time Sign-In
Once you've invited a user via the Team Admin page, the user can log in. Which authentication methods you've enabled determines how the user signs in:
- If you allow password authentication, the user will receive an email with a one-time link to accept the invite and set up a password.
- If you do not allow password authentication, the user must log in using a federated Google or Microsoft button.
Activating / Deactivating Users
Users appear in one of two states:
- Active
- Able to log in
- Click Deactivate to disable login access
- Deactivated
- Not able to log in
- Click Reactivate to allow login again
Deleting Users
Dropzone does not currently allow you to delete users. Instead, users can be deactivated.
Keeping the user in the system ensures their previous actions remain properly accounted for in audit logs and historical records.